12 Things You Didn’t Know You Could Do With Facebook

Facebook was much easier to understand and use a few years ago. Managing the growing sea of ​​functions can be overwhelming, but there are always ways to make the social network more suited to your liking.These are 12 tips and ideas:

  1. Reduce notifications

You cannot get rid of all notifications on the Facebook website, but you can disable many. Enter Settings and click Notifications. There you can adjust what alerts you want to receive on your computer and on your phone.

Unfortunately, Facebook does not let you disable email notifications in Settings. You have to click on “Unsubscribe” for each type of notice until you stop receiving it. To suspend the alerts of a group or a page, you have to enter each page and select “Disabled” in each one. You can also click on I don’t like it or on Hide on the page.

  1. Disable automatic video playback

With the automatic playback of videos, you could end up downloading a little more data than you would like, plus you run the risk of seeing something you might not want to see. To disable automatic site playback on a desktop computer, go to the Videos section at the bottom of Settings. Change the rule from Default to Disabled.

In the mobile application, touch the three horizontal and low stripes icon. Then, select Settings and select Autoplay videos to choose an option.

  1. Save things to read or see later

Publications in the News section have the option to save for later. Click the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post and choose Save video or link. To see everything you’ve accumulated, click on the Save button on the side of your Facebook homepage.

  1. Tell people how your name is pronounced

In the Information section of your profile, click information about yourself. There you will select an audio pronunciation key.

  1. Find out if someone has blocked you

Facebook does not notify you (and may never do so) if you have been blocked, but you do not have to use external applications or extensions to know. These are some clues:

  • The publications you share in the chronology of the other disappear. They reappear when the blockage is removed.
  • The chat history remains intact, but new messages are not sent.
  • When you click on the name in a chat window or in an old notification, you receive the following message: “It is likely that the link you followed has expired or that the page is only visible to an audience you do not belong to.”
  • Once you unlock someone, you have to resubmit a friend request.
  1. Block invitations to Candy Crush and other applications

In addition to blocking people separately, Facebook also allows you to block invitations from applications, pages and events. If you add a friend’s name in the Block app invitations feature, you’ll never see a Candy Crush request from that person again.

  1. Find things you shared or commented on

Search your Activity Log for the keywords of a post or the caption of a photo. On the desktop site, click the drop-down menu (triangle with the tip down) at the top of the page and select Activity Log. Use the Activity Search field in the upper right corner.

  1. Find out who could see the things you like and your comments in the News section

If your friend shares something on Facebook, decide what the privacy settings of that article will be. When you like or comment, anyone who enters this privacy setting can see that action in their News section or in the Instant Information section.

Let’s say a friend posts a group photo. Tag the 20 members and select Friends of Friends in the privacy section. If you comment on the photo or like, all your friends and friends of your friends can see your comment.

So if you doubt that your name and your activity on Facebook are visible to people, you don’t know, select the privacy option for each post before you interact.

  1. Reduce the space that Facebook uses on your phone

The Facebook mobile application weighs more than 96MB. It can weigh hundreds and hundreds of megabytes, particularly if you also browse the internet a lot within the application. That’s because Facebook temporarily stores on your phone the photos you see in your News section and the data on a web page so that everything loads faster.

To clear the cache memory on iPhones, you have to delete the Facebook application and reinstall it. On Android, you can clear the cache of an application by simply clicking on the application icon, dragging it to Application Information and selecting Clear Cache. You can also use the mobile web version of Facebook instead of the application.

  1. Choose what news you want to see first

In the middle of this year, Facebook presented the “See first” feature, which allows you to choose your favourite people and see the news about their life first. Just pass over your friend’s name, then click on Follow and select View first.

  1. Disconnect from Facebook on another computer

Enter Settings and select Security. In the Where you signed in section, you will see which devices have been used to enter your Facebook account. Select the End activity option to disconnect on a device.

  1. See all the applications that use your Facebook login

In Settings, select Applications to know which third-party programs have access to your information on Facebook. Remember that applications will never post things on your Facebook page without your permission.

If you decide to approve them, you can limit who can see your posts.